A Question From The Gallery

I got a request today asking me to list the podcasts I listen to…and what shows I listen to, if I listen to talk radio.

I thought it might be a nice exercise, as I am freakishly delighted by making lists.

I think I got this from my mom, who always writes notes, listing all varieties of things. And I mean it when I say I like lists as I have several on the go almost all the time. So here’s another:

I listen to more podcasts than most people would ever consider to attempt. I do this because I love the content I can get in a form that is not dependent on time. I am not the guy who can be here or there at a particular time for a show, a movie, or a radio show. Plus, many of the shows I get in podcast form, do not exist on the radio in my hometown of Windsor, Ontario, Canada. They only air in cities that bother to carry them on their airwaves. Therefore, if I do not listen to the paltry “first 10 minutes” of Dennis Miller’s one-year-old radio show as a podcast, I won’t hear any of it, ever.

The list of podcasts and talk radio in the form of podcasts: (there are some I bounce back and forth to…

Scientific American’s 60-Second Science

Sound Opinions (WBEZ Chicago & NPR)

Atomic Suburbia

Canadian Podcast Buffet

CBC Radio 3 Podcast with Grant Lawrence

CBC Radio 3 R3-30

CBC Radio: Search Engine

CBC Radio: Spark

CBC Radio: The Best of As It Happens

DicksnJanes Podcast (Scarborough Dude)

Digital Detroit Radio

Hey!, We’re Back (Jonathan Katz)

The Hollywood Podcast (Tim Coyne)

Island Podcasting (Ted Reiken)

KCRW’s Le Show (Harry Shearer)

KCRW’s The Urban Man

NPR: Fresh Air w/ Terry Gross

NPR: Pop Culture Podcast

Public Radio International: The Sound of Young America

Public Radio International: The Tavis Smiley Show

Public Radio International, WGBH, & BBC’s The World – Technology (Clark Boyd)

Real Time with Bill Maher

Science Talk: The Podcast of Scientific American

Sixty Second Tech

The Talking Stick Podcast

The Dennis Miller Show

The Sniffer (Nora Young & Cathi Bond)

NPR: This American Life

So, yeah, I get a lot of podcasts and public radio…but I often ask myself the question, “What else might I be missing?” I mean, if I missed these shows before I had my iPod, what else am I missing?

By the way, I have been overly proud of my recent radio achievements, finally making it onto the actual airwaves, and better yet, with CBC! And better still, a wicked national program called Spark, which, yes, I subscribe to the podcast, because I like to keep up with what the show is covering, so that when I pitch my freelance ideas, they are not doubles. The most recent show which ran Wednesday, April 9th, and will run again Saturday March 12th can be heard HERE. I have a small piece somewhere near the middle where I interviewed a bunch of smart kids in my brother’s “advanced” grade 8 class at John Campbell School here in Windsor.

3 responses to “A Question From The Gallery

  1. Tom,

    Thanks for the link love. I hope you like Sixty Second Tech.

    =C=

  2. Hey!

    Thanks for the shout out!

  3. Hey Tom that’s a hell of a list. Gonna check a few of them out.

Leave a Reply

