Garbage Patch knowledge growing

It was quite late the other night, while I was just finishing up a post, when I looked at the TV screen and noticed the tell-tale images of pelican and albatross corpses full of pieces of plastic. This imagery seems to almost always be a precursor to discussion about the North (Great) Pacific Garbage Patch.

So as I watched, the terrain became familiar, and I soon heard the narrator, Edward Norton, introduce Captain Charles Moore. I realized I was watching a National Geographic show called Strange Days. I was in no position to watch it, but I hope it will be on PBS again at a better time than 5am.

At a family get-together yesterday, my brother Rodd and I continued our talk about the Garbage Patch. Rodd has watched 11 of the 12 episodes of the Vice production of Garbage Island. I have only seen five of them, but it’s almost like I can’t take watching too many of them at once. I get a little rage building in my gut when I realize that my complacency, and the melange of everyone else’s complacency has lead to people and corporations treating the planet like a septic tank. There should be more outrage.

Perhaps I’ll post again when I watch the rest of the series.

One response to “Garbage Patch knowledge growing

  1. I have been in touch with some folks who are monitoring the patch. Unfortunately it cannot be viewed from space. There are websites that publish satellite photos every day from around the world. I wanted to start a ‘garbage patch watch’ blog, but alas, foiled again.

    MAPS!!

Leave a Reply

