CBC Radio 3…wow.

Do you know what it’s like to be a radio-hopeful like me when you get an e-mail, unsolicited, from a CBC radio producer?

It’s pretty much the best thing that can happen, professionally. Period.

That’s what happened to me the other day when Chris Kelly sent me a message asking me if I’d like to be a guest (interviewed) on Grant Lawrence’s internet Radio 3 show. I nearly imploded.

Grant Lawrence has been the host of Canada’s most downloaded music podcast. So, you may understand that his internet radio show gets a nice collection of live listeners. I can’t blame people for tuning into web radio with the options slimming more and more on commercial radio. Not everyone is as lucky as Windsor/Detroit to have a community station like CJAM to bring good music to your life.

Chris told me that the show was focusing on beer. And, I kind of deal with the stuff, a lot. So I was totally geeked for this interview, ran a hundred errands the day of the interview, and when I got home there was a message from Chris, wondering if I was ready for the interview!

“Did I screw this whole thing up or what?”

I was panicking. I called back, left a message, and waited.

Minutes later the call came, and I was slotted into the show to discuss beer with Grant during a music break.

You see, I’ve been a huge fan of Radio 3 because of what they do for Canadian music. I’ve sent several messages (audio and e-mail) to Grant and Craig Norris (the host of CBC Radio 3’s R3-30 podcast). These guys, along with their team of producers, are the exact people I wish to be working with, in that medium I love…radio.

The interview was fun, fast-paced, and concise. These are the kinds of things I could do every day until I cease to be. So when this interview was done, I was short of breath, gasping (I guess) on the inside, for more opportunities like this.

I have decided to give you the recording I made (a crude one) of the audio I collected with my Zoom H4, laying it next to my computer speaker. It’s a little noisy in the background, but if you focus, it’s fun.

CLICK HERE FOR RADIO 3 WEB RADIO WITH GRANT LAWRENCE

2 responses to “CBC Radio 3…wow.

  1. Molson Stock Ale is a quality ale.

    However, you DO have the best Ontario microbrew selection I’ve run into. Looking forward to some Arkell Best Bitter next time i’m there.

    Great interview, Tom!

    -m

  2. Not the best location to leave this post, but didn’t know where else it should go. Anyway…

    Do you ever read http://www.sweet-juniper.com/

    If you don’t, you might be interested in it. The guy who posts is a stay at home dad with two young kids. His blog is often about his kids, but also often about Detroit, and it’s state of falling apart. His writing is blunt, to the point, HILARIOUS and in my opinion totally brilliant. Anyway, just thought I’d pass on a link to another blogger who might be interested.

Leave a Reply

