Windsor Star covers Big Walk, on the FRONT PAGE!

Photo taken by Nick Brancaccio, The Windsor Star

Photo taken by Nick Brancaccio, The Windsor Star

Well, it’s pretty nuts, but the Windsor Star covered this story (because Don McArthur does his job well, reading blogs, and looking for stories where great journalists look for stories, and he found out about Big Walk and liked it), and it made it onto the front page, under the fold.

I did not expect this.

However, if you are at all interested in reading the positive, very well-written article, go here:

http://www.canada.com/windsorstar/story.html?id=a977e94e-6b0f-48e3-87d2-359a0d96dc03

Even crazier, is that the lawyer in the picture that I’m talking to…he’s a guy who I have been a fan of but not even known it. I mean, I knew I was a fan of his, but I did not know who he was.

He runs these amazing architecture walks in Detroit. Yes, a lawyer from Windsor runs architecture walks in Detroit. His name is Dave Ziriada, and he runs Preservation Wayne walks in downtown Detroit! I have wanted to go on these tours in the past, and have been unable due to scheduling…but here this guy is, knocking on the front window of the bar when I show up for the different photos used in the web and print  editions of today’s paper.

Someone in his office had heard myself and Stephen Hargreaves on CBC Radio’s The Early Shift, with Tony Doucette earlier in that same day.  So, he told Ziriada that the guy running Big Walk owns Phog Lounge. Guess what? He works in the building across the street!

I know! It’s kooky! I was shocked, and practically acted like a fan-boy over these walks he conducts in Detroit.

So “Big Thanks” goes out to Tony Doucette, who is always great to mix it up with, and to Don McArthur who has always been helpful and encouraging when it comes to my pursuing a life of journalism.

4 responses to “Windsor Star covers Big Walk, on the FRONT PAGE!

  1. Great work, Tom!!!

  2. I didn’t even realize that was Dave in the photo till now. He didn’t seem like a lawyer while we talked on the walk. Glad he joined us. That walk gave me the recharge I really needed for my body and mind. I was so happy to complete it with you.

  3. I am so proud! Congrats…my hope is that this inspires others to organize others across the city.

  4. Pingback: A 3 Person Video Chat: How Musicians can benefit from Web 3.0 — Internet Marketing for Tourism

Leave a Reply

